Florida Labor Laws

Labor Law on Red Billboard.Labor laws vary from state to state. There are, however, some federal laws that all states must adhere to.  To learn about some labor laws that are specific to Florida, keep reading.

Florida has a minimum wage of $8.05.  That may not sound like very much when compared to the highest minimum wage, which is in the District of Columbia.  It sure beats the lowest minimum wages of Georgia and Wyoming of $5.15 though.  These rates do not include positions like restaurant workers who have wages that are based on receiving tips. 

Florida does not have its own laws governing overtime pay.  It follows the federal law. When it comes to breaks and meals the statutes in Florida are divided into two groups; one for under 18 years of age and another for over 18.  Under 18 years of age, an employer must give a break of 30 minutes to anyone working more than 4 hours.  Florida follows the federal statute for employees over 18.

When it comes to granting leave, there are no laws in Florida.  Granting leave is left up to the individual employer.  Those employers who have unionized workers will iron the leave language out in contract negotiations.  The only type of language on leave in Florida is Jury Duty.  It states an employer cannot penalize an employee who is responding to a jury duty summons.  Florida does not have language on hours of work.  Florida follows FLSA, Fair Labor and Standards Act.

Florida does have language on child labor.  Basically, any child under the age of 13 may not work in the state of Florida, except under limited conditions, perhaps on a family farm. Those children who are 14 and 15 can work at more types of jobs, but are limited in the amount of hours allowed, particularly during the school year.  Those children ages 16 and 17 have a broad range of work available to them.  They are limited in working in hazardous areas.

When accepting an offer of employment, be sure you fully understand what is expected of you and what compensation you will receive.  Many larger employers will have handbooks for employees to use for reference.  Other employers might be unionized and will direct you toward the appropriate union representative. If there is a concern about a labor law violation, contact the Florida Department of Labor or a labor attorney.

 

Search Widerman Malek

Categories

  • Careers at WM (5)
  • Local Stories (46)
  • Resources (10)
  • Uncategorized (7)